X

Donate Today!

It's North Texas Giving Day!  Please show your school spirit and make a gift to our Annual Fund via the NTGD platform.  We will receive matching funds from the Communities Foundation of Texas.   Click "Additional Information" to donate.
Additional Information

Parent Teacher Organization

Dallas International School has many supportive parent and teacher volunteers. Many events, activities and programs are organized by the Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) to enhance and enrich the experience of the DIS communityAll parents, teachers and staff are automatic members of the PTO.
 
Mission

The DIS PTO is a volunteer, non-profit organization whose purpose is to support the students by engaging in fundraising projects, supporting various student enrichment activities, providing a forum for parent, teacher, and student interaction through community events, and promoting open communications between parents, teachers, the DIS administration and the community.

Purpose

a)  To further the educational goals of the Dallas International School ("DIS" or the "School") by developing closer relations and interaction among parents, faculty and students associated with the School.

b)  To furnish financial support to the School to be used in furtherance of its educational goals and, moreover, to promote the welfare of its students.

c)  To provide a forum in which the opinions of the parents, teachers and the School administration may be expressed and shared.

d)  To welcome new families, faculty and staff, and to facilitate their transition into the DIS community.

e)  To serve as advocates for the School to both the DIS and outside community.

The objectives of the DIS-PTO are directed toward parents, teachers, and the general public, and are developed through conferences, committees, projects and programs.
 
PTO Board of Directors
 
President - Chellie Bowden (chelliebowden@sbcglobal.net)
 
Vice President - Lori Petronio (lpetronio@msn.com)
 
Secretary - Lisa Burns (lisamburns@gmail.com)
 
Treasurer - Kerry Briard (kerry.briard@gmail.com)        

Communications 
- Andrea Osborne-Smith (a_osmith@yahoo.com)

Fundraising - Heather Alexander
 
Maternelle Room Parent Coordinator - Anna Lammens (annalammens@gmail.com)
 
Primary Room Parent Coordinator (Lower Campus) - Syndey Oberheiden (oberheiden@gmail.com)

Primary Room Parent Coordinator (Upper Campus) - Diana Darwish (dianadarwish@hotmail.com)
 
Secondary Room Parent Coordinator - Renee Herrin (renee.herrin@gmail.com)

Churchill Campus Representative - Caroline Fievet (cfievet@dallasinternationalschool.org)
  
Waterview Campus Representative - Zahra Boudaoui (zboudaoui@dallasinternationalschool.org)
 
DIS Administrative Rep - Lorraine Gachelin (lgachelin@dallasinternationalschool.org)
 
The PTO Board of Directors meets monthly to oversee the organization of its various programs and activities. General Member Meetings are held during the school year for all parents, teachers, and staff to attend. Updates and PTO information are presented at these meetings, as well as voting upon policy changes and new board members. Notification of these meetings is sent via the Globe and Room Parent communications.
 
Want to be in-the-know for the lastest PTO happenings? Click here to join the DIS PTO Facebook group!

Activities and Events

Welcome Cocktail, August 25, 2018
Held the first week of school and organized by the PTO, this a great time to meet new people and catch up with friends.
 
Back to School Pool Party, September 8, 2018
A chance to get acquainted at a local country club and paired up with the first PTO General Meeting.
 
Fall Carnival, October 13, 2018
This popular family event is scheduled for Saturday October 14 on the Churchill campus.  Rides, games, food trucks, live entertainment!
 
Book Fair, November 5-9 (Waterview) and November 16-30 (Churchill)
The event gives parents a chance to purchase children’s books in French and English and helps support the school libraries.

Mom and Dads Club Holiday Party, TBD
These two committees join forces for an evening of festivities.
 
Father/Daughter Dance, TBD
Held around Valentine’s Day, the PTO Dads get to take their girl for a whirl.
 
Mother/Daughter Party, TBD
Hosted by the Moms’ Club for girls of all ages.

Class Project Exhibition, February 28, 2018
Beautiful class projects are on display to kick off the mobile bidding of these highly desired children artworks.  Bidding closes during the gala/auction event.

Celebrate South Arica Gala, April 6, 2018
The largest event of the year, this fun-filled night of dinner and dancing raises funds for the school.
 
PTO  End of Year Bash, May 3, 2018
An end of year party for the entire DIS community to celebrate a wonderful year.

Teacher/Staff Appreciation Dinner, May 31, 2018
The Teacher Care Committee goes all out to thank the teachers and staff at this wonderful end of year dinner.
 

Committees

AMBASSADOR
Erin King - erin.king@me.com
Jihane Hechaime - jihane.hechaime@gmail.com

Attends and helps to host welcome events including Back to School Pool Parties, Orientations, Admissions Events, Welcome Cocktail Party, and General Membership meetings. Creates and provides welcome packages for new families beginning at DIS and help them connect with the DIS PTO community and resources.

BOOSTER CLUB
Sandra Gassin
Lisa Anderson

CARNIVAL
Mike McFadden - mmebmmeb@gmail.com
François Grunenwald - francois.grunenwald@gmail.com
 
Scheduled for October 13, 2018, this Carnival is a great opportunity for the entire DIS PTO community to work and play together to create a great event. Event includes food trucks, live music, rides, bounce houses, face painting, games, etc.

CRAFTS

Sydney Oberheiden - oberheiden@gmail.com
Lori Petronio - lpetronio@msn.com

Create Valentine’s cards that are sold to benefit the end of year Celebrate South Africa festival.

DADS CLUB
Peyton Healey - peyton@powerstaylor.com
Chad Alexander - calexand614@gmail.com

DIS Dads work together on service projects, enjoy social outings, and host events including the Valentines Roses and the Father-Daughter Dance.

EVENTS
Nathalie Poirier - nathalie.noelpoirier@gmail.com

Coordinates the organization of the Welcome Cocktail, Back to School Pool Party, Gala Project Exhibition and End of Year Bash.

GALA
Alison Matis, Chair - disgala@hotmail.com

Organizes the annual spring gala, held on April 6, 2019. This year’s theme is to celebrate South Africa. The
event features a live and silent auction, dinner and dancing. This event is a major fundraiser for the school.

LIBRARY/BOOK FAIR
Florence Algudo - florencealgudo@gmail.com
Charlotte Pine

Organizes multilingual book fairs providing books and music in French, English and Spanish for parents, teachers and the library; orders vacation workbooks and supports librarians as needed.

MOMS CLUB
Sherry Ezell - slvon@yahoo.com
Jennifer Guyot - jguy07@mac.com

Organizes play dates with DIS moms and children, and social events throughout the year for DIS moms to get together for both fun and service projects. This group also hosts the Mother Daughter Party and the Mother Son event each year.

PHOTOGRAPHY
Anne-Sophie Jollant
Luna Lu Rong

PLAYGROUP

Heather Alexander - halexander08@gmail.com

Organized playdates for Churchill campus students and their parents.

SCHOOL STORE
Genevieve Desmond - genevievedesmond@yahoo.com
Chellie Bowden

On campus stores located in lobby at both Churchill and Waterview campuses providing authorized DIS logo clothing for students including PE clothes, outerwear, spirit items and new or used uniform clothing.

SOCIAL MEDIA

Al Chia - chiacrew@gmail.com

Maintains the PTO social media blogs.

TEACHER CARE
Yvette Wheeler - ywheeler@earthlink.net

Supports the DIS teachers and staff by providing snacks during meetings, helping new teachers relocating to Dallas, organizing social events, teacher appreciation week, and end of year teacher dinner.

Lower School Campus

6039 Churchill Way, Dallas, TX 75230
Tel: (972) 991-6379; Fax: (972) 991-6608

Upper School Campus

17811 Waterview Pkwy, Dallas, TX 75252
Tel: (469) 250-0001; Fax: (214) 570-4900